The 72-Hour No-Contact Requirement in Wisconsin Domestic Violence Cases
According to a Wisconsin statute, if you’ve been arrested for domestic violence, you are required to refrain from any contact with the victim for 72 hours – no matter what. The purpose of this requirement is to alleviate some of the tension between both parties, a cooling off period of sorts.
During this time period, the accused must:
- Stay away from the victim
- Stay away from his or her residence (including a place he or she is temporarily staying)
- Refrain from contact of any sort (verbal or electronic)
- Not ask anyone to contact the victim on his or her behalf
This 72-hour no-contact order is different than a permanent or temporary restraining order or injunction, but if violated, it will result in a completely different charge in addition to the domestic violence accusation. Individuals could potentially face nine months in jail and up to $1,000 in fines solely for this violation.
Are you facing domestic violence charges in Wisconsin? We believe that many who have been accused aren’t guilty, but you need legal representation experienced in criminal defense to prove your innocence.
Contact the expert lawyers of Huppertz & Powers, S.C. today. We’ll fight for the best possible outcome in your case.