Driving Under the Influence in Wisconsin
If you’ve been caught driving under the influence in Wisconsin (or OWI—operating a vehicle while intoxicated), having an experienced Waukesha DUI Attorney on your side will give you the most successful outcome possible. Below are some facts about DUI/OWI in Wisconsin.
- The legal blood alcohol content (BAC) is 0.08, or less than that at 0.04 if you’re a commercial driver.
- If you’re under 21, anything above 0.02 will bring on a slew of different consequences.
- Additionally, in Wisconsin, fines will double if you are driving under the influence with a minor under the age of 16 or a pregnant person in the car with you.
- If you’re charged with a DUI and have prior offenses, this could also lead to more severe consequences.
One thing you should know, Wisconsin is an implied consent state, meaning the act of driving requires you to comply with law enforcement officers’ requests for chemical tests. If you do not consent, the courts believe this implies guilt, and you face automatically losing your license for a year. In the case of a Breathalyzer, you can refuse this inadmissible test with no penalty as the results of these are only preliminary.
In Wisconsin, your first DUI/OWI charge is labeled a traffic offense, opposed to a crime. These charges typically entail a fine of $100-$500 and a 6-9-month license revocation. If you receive a second DUI/OWI offense, however, it will be considered a crime with higher penalties – including possible jail time. If you’re arrested with a blood alcohol content of 0.15 or higher, the penalties then can double, and you could be required to install a mandatory ignition interlock device that will not let you start your vehicle unless you are below the legal BAC levels.
Even worse, if driving under the influence causes an accident or results in death, the penalties may include loss of your license for up to five years, up to 25 years in jail, a
$100,000 fine plus the $365 OWI surcharge and an ignition interlock device installed in your vehicle.
If you’re facing motor vehicle charges, the attorneys of Huppertz & Powers, S.C. can help you begin regaining control over your case and your life. Contact us today to schedule your initial consultation – 100% free and confidential to you.