OWI with Children in the Car
While most states refer to a drunk driving charge as a DUI (driving under the influence), Wisconsin uses the term OWI (operating a vehicle while intoxicated). The penalties for an OWI increase every time you get an OWI within ten years.
One Waukesha woman found out how these penalties work first hand. Thirty-eight-year-old Shelly Greeson was recently arrested for her fourth OWI in ten years. To make matters worse, her license had been revoked and she had two children in the car with her.
Police officers suspected she was driving under the influence when they saw her swerving in and out of traffic. This suspension was confirmed when she handed the officer a credit card after being asked for her ID. The combination of charges means Greeson will be facing very harsh penalties.
Penalties for OWI
|Jail||None||5 days – 6 months||30 days -1 year||60 days – 1 year||6 months – 6 years|
|Fines||$150 – $300||$300 – $1,100||$600 – $2,000||$600 – $2,000||$600 – $10,000|
|License Suspension||6 – 9 months||12 – 18 months||2 – 3 years||2 – 3 years||2 – 3 years|
With kids under 16-years-old in the car.
|Jail||5 days minimum||Up to a year||Up to 2 years|
|Fines||$350 – $1,100||$700 – $2,200||$1,200 – $4,000|
|License Suspension||Up to 18 months||2 – 3 years||4 – 6 years|
The lawyers at Huppertz & Powers have more than 30 years of experience helping Wisconsins overcome OWIs. If you’ve been charged with an OWI call Huppertz & Powers. It doesn’t matter if it’s your first or your fourth, we can help you pick up the pieces and move on with your life after an OWI.