In Wisconsin there is a long list of ways to commit theft. To go along with this long list of violations, there’s also a long list of penalties for the various levels of severity. Because Wisconsin theft laws are so thorough it can be hard to know which category a theft crime might fall into.
Ways to commit theft in Wisconsin
- Converting to a person’s own use the property of another as a result of the person’s office or position, without the owner’s consent.
- Obtaining title to another’s property by intentionally deceiving the person with a false representation, made with intent to defraud.
- Intentionally failing to return any personal property in the person’s possession due to a lease or rental agreement.
- Intentionally taking the property of another without the owner’s consent, and with the intent of permanently depriving the owner.
- Taking property from another who has a right to possession of the property, intentionally and without consent.
Penalties for Theft in Wisconsin
When it comes to penalties, the punishment must fit the crime. The penalty will typically depend on how valuable the items stolen are. The more valuable, the more severe the punishment will be.
|Under $100||Not a criminal charge||Ticket|
|Under $2,500||Class A Misdemeanor||Up to $10,000 fine, up to nine months in jail|
|$2,500-$5,000||Class I Felony||Up to $10,000 fine, up to three and half years in jail|
|$5,000-$10,000||Class H Felony||Up to $10,000 fine, up to six years in jail|
|$5,000-$10,000||Class G Felony||Up to $25,000 fine, up to 10 years in jail|
In addition to these charges, you can also be held liable for the cost of the stolen goods, damages, and legal fees of the owner.
If you have been charged with theft in Wisconsin, no matter how small the amount, you need a trustworthy lawyer who has experience in Wisconsin theft laws. The lawyers at Huppertz & Powers know what it takes to win your theft case.