Wisconsin Theft Laws
Theft may sound like a simple crime to define, but in the state of Wisconsin theft has many definitions and can carry different penalties, depending on the value of the stolen items. Theft can also be defined by the way it happened, and Wisconsin has a long list of ways to commit theft:
- Intentionally taking the property of another without the owner’s consent, and with the intent of permanently depriving the owner.
- Converting to a person’s own use the property of another as a result of the person’s office or position, without the owner’s consent.
- Taking property from another who has a right to possession of the property, intentionally and without consent.
- Obtaining title to another’s property by intentionally deceiving the person with a false representation, made with intent to defraud.
- Intentionally failing to return any personal property in the person’s possession due to a lease or rental agreement.
If the value of the stolen items is less than $2,500 it will fall under the category of a class A misdemeanor. If convicted of class A misdemeanor theft in Wisconsin you can face fines up to $10,000 and up to nine months in jail.
A class I felony will be enforced if the value is between $2,500 and $5,000. Penalties for this are fines up to $10,000 and up to three and a half years in jail.
For items between $5,000 and $10,000 the charge will be for a class H felony. This also applies if a firearm or domestic animal is stolen. Class H felonies carries a punishment of fines up to $10,000 and up to six years in jail.
Grand theft applies when items are greater than $10,000. Grand theft has penalties of fines up to $25,000 and up to 10 years in jail.
Wisconsin theft laws can be complicated to understand. If you’ve been charged with theft in Wisconsin calling a qualified criminal defense lawyer should be your first step. The law firm of Huppertz & Powers has the knowledge and experience necessary to properly handle a theft case.